A Thought on Self-Discovery

In the midst of a hectic week full of tests, meetings, and studying, I have found my patience with others dwindling and the tolerance for my own flaws minimal. From comparing myself to others on Facebook to second-guessing my own worth, I have found the main source of my problem: a lack of confidence with my own identity.Now, to be honest, this blog post was originally going to turn into a spiel about rediscovering my self-worth. However, after doing further research on the matter from a Biblical point of view, I have been incredibly enlightened about the conceit behind the concept of self-image.My focus changed when I came across this wonderful comparison from the Southern View Chapel that distinguishes between what the Bible and society says about self-worth. To my surprise, I couldn’t help but notice how many of the society traits were goals I have been thriving for.
WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS:
1) Love God & others (Mt. 22:37)
2) Build up others (Heb. 10:24,25)
3) None righteous (Rom. 3:23)
4) Heart is deceitful (Jer. 17:9)
5) Put others first (Phip. 2:1-4)
6) Be humble (Rom. 12:3)
7) We are sinners (Rom. 3:10,11)
8) Walk in the Spirit (Gal. 5:16)
9) Deny yourself (Mt. 16:24-26)
10) Put confidence in God (Phip. 4:13)
   WHAT SOCIETY SAYS:
1) Love yourself
2) Build your self-esteem
3) You are good
4) Believe in yourself
5) Put yourself first
6) Think highly of yourself
7) You are of great value
8) Do what you want to do
9) Find yourself
10) Have self-confidence
It isn’t about finding your worth or identity. It’s about losing your identity to the point where Jesus can fill in all the pieces. Instead of going out to “find my worth,” I’m taking a new approach. Rather than focus on finding my own self worth and identity, I need to deny all that and have Christ as my identity. It’s time to completely stop listening to the emotions that have put me in this rut in the first place.My grandpa  once told me, “You’re no better than anyone else, but you’re also no worst.” Essentially, he was telling me to stop comparing myself to others who appear better off than me, as well as seeing myself better than those who appear worst off.I want to embrace the freedom of Jesus Christ. Instead of dwelling on how I measure up to others, or whether or not I have enough self-worth, I need to abandon my own selfish desires and consume myself with something much, much greater than I could ever dream of.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it. What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?” -Matthew 16:24-26

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 119 hits

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

